Please be aware that Snapchat have updated the app so that anyone following you on Snapchat can now see your whereabouts at any time. In other words, anyone following your son/daughter can now track them to an address/building. Clearly there are potential safeguarding concerns related to this feature. It is possible to disable this feature by going to the map, clicking settings and choosing Ghost Mode.

How to switch off Snap Map location sharing:

  • When in photo-taking mode, pinch the screen to open Snap Map
  • Touch the settings cog in the top right corner of the screen
  • Tap “Ghost Mode” to switch off location sharing
  • Photos and videos posted to Snapchat’s public ‘Our Story’ will still be discoverable on the map